IP Television Books
The latest IP Television News
IP Television Press Releases
IP television new products
IP Television industry directory
IP Television statistics
IP television online dictionary
Advertise with IP Television Magazine
Contact IP Television Magazine

Welcome to IPTV Magazine!

Our mission is to identify and explain the technologies and applications that allow television services to be provided through Internet Protocol (IP) data networks.  Readers learn the options and the system to implement IPTV along with new features and applications and business opportunities that are available in the IPTV industry today.

          

FREE ON-LINE

SUBSCRIPTION

SIGN UP NOW

 

 


Editor's Viewpoint

 

PUBLISHER
Lawrence Harte
LHarte@IPTVMagazine.com
EDITOR
Lawrence Harte
LHarte@IPTVMagazine.com

Associate Editor
Michele Chandler
MChandler@IPTVMagazine.com

ADVERTISING SALES
Robert Belt
RBelt@IPTVMagazine.com
+1-480-368-8876

Business Development
Carolyn Luck
Carolyn@IPTVMagazine.com
+1-480-368-8876

Expert Editors

Alisa Herr - Multimedia
AHerr@IPTVMagazine.com

Bud Bates - Technology
BBates@IPTVMagazine.com

Lawrence Harte - Business
LHarte@IPTVMagazine.com

Michael Sommer - Consumer Elecronics
MSommer@IPTVMagazine.com

Eric Stasik - Patents and IPR
EStasik@IPTVMagazine.com

Avi Ofrane- Billing Systems
AOfrane@IPTVMagazine.com

Roger McGarrahan- Content Licensing
Rmcgarrahan@IPTVMagazine.com

Tara Ramos - Telemedicine
TERamos@iptvmagazine.com

SUBSCRIPTIONS
Circulation Manager
Geovanny Solera
GSolera@IPTVMagazine.com

Electronic subscriptions to IP Television Magazine are FREE. Printed versions of the magazine are distributed at industry trade events.

IDENTIFICATION STATEMENT
IP Television Magazine (ISSN: 1554-9410) is published monthly by Althos Publishing, 106 West Vance Street, Fuquay Varina, NC 27526 USA

Photo Lawrence Harte

TV advertising regulation defines how much advertising TV broadcasters can offer, as well as authorized types and suitable broadcast times. TV advertising regulation can be significantly more restrictive in some countries, such as the UK, which can reduce or even collapse the ability of TV broadcasters to offer broadcast services. Excessive regulation of the TV broadcasting industry can result in fewer programming choices, and even the loss (bankruptcy) of TV broadcasters.

TV broadcasters have been experiencing increases in content costs in conjunction with reductions (non-increases) in advertising revenues. In general, advertising budgets have been shifting towards Internet Marketing channels where there are less regulations regarding promotions.

As more content sources become available to the consumer through new channels such as mobile video and Internet TV, consumers will shift from traditional broadcasters to alternative sources. This reduction in viewers will result in decreased advertising revenues.

To help TV broadcasters survive, the regulatory requirements for TV advertising should be reduced, or similar regulations should be applied to Internet advertising. The best solution may be a combination of allowing more types of advertising on television systems and better control over promotional regulations on the Internet.

 

TV Advertising Regulation Not Balanced with Internet TV Advertising

                                                       Lawrence Harte

 
   
 
 

                                                       

 
   
   
HomeNew Products | Articles | Subscriptions | IPTV DirectoryContact Us | Privacy Policy |
Copyright 2010 Althos Publishing. ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.